Skip to content

Nibbyboi's Blog

It happens without effort

I suggest that after reading my mini interview with Melanie, your little fingers start clicking on the link below that will lead you straight to her blog. A couple months back I stumbled right into MelanieLikes blog im not really sure what source linked me to her blog but it happened, and im glad it did, Shes the type that’s more than willing to take a fashion risk, I consider her an extreme expert when it comes to vintage shopping.
Her little stories about daily adventures and list of items she attaches under all her pictures to describe each item she’s wearing are always fun to look at, not to mention Melanie has a huge sense of humor and can always find a way to put together unique vintage outfits, 85% of the time she includes her scarfs/ties on her outfits which I consider one of her signatures. Even through a quick scan across her blog one thing that will stick out is her ability to stay true to her own style.  

-Hi Melanie, Tell us a little bit about yourself, your background?, your childhood, family…

Well, my name’s Melanie Michelle Medina. I’m Salvadorian, Spaniard, Honduran, & Mayan. Ever since I was a wee child, I’ve always been 100% family oriented. I come from two very different ends of the spectrum when it comes to my family. My Dad’s side of the family are University & Private College graduates who have always had extremely high expectations for me, & my Mom’s side comes from Salvadorian immigrants who are loving, caring, & have taught me to be well-rounded & courteous. I don’t do drugs nor do I drink alcohol; never have – other than the occasional sip of wine. When I was a toddler, my immediate family & I moved from L.A. County to Frazier Park Nowhere in the mountains. I was the only Hispanic kid in my class – nobody ever wanted to play with me. Being in that environment taught me to be independent & ultimately sparked my interest in art, writing, etc. What started out as a way to pass time during a lonesome recess ended up being something that I still love to this very day. Now, I’m a college student ready to take on life all the while having good clean fun.
-Where is your favorite shopping spot? your best shopping deal.
My favourite shopping spot, other than the secret place that my boyfriend & I always go to, is a thrift store a few minutes away from my house that has the best deals (I recently got a beautiful velvet crop top for forty-nine cents) & the best button-ups. If you’ve seen my blog, you know that I love me some button-ups! 🙂 Other than that, I love shopping in Downtown Fullerton.
-Is there anything your readers would be surprised to know about you?
For some reason, when I talk to people I barely meet my voice gets really, really high. I don’t know why. Really. It’s strange. Oh, & I was always a year younger than everyone in high school because I skipped a grade – I graduated a year earlier than I should have!
-What artists, designers, and bands interest you?
One artist that really sticks out is a guy named Tony Campos. He has an eye for the odd, but always ends up making everything look beautiful. My favorite shoes designer is Jeffrey Campbell, but when it comes to clothing, I love love love House of Holland, Karen Walker, & the collection Alexa Chung did for Madewell. The Strokes are always going to be my number one loved band. I’m also very into The Radio Dept., Kurt Vile, The Cribs, The Epochs, Sebastien Grainger, & any band who incorporates soothing whale noises in their songs.
-When and why did you get into fashion?
I’ve been into fashion ever since I was a toddler. My mom would buy me hundreds & hundreds of dollars worth of clothes from Gymboree that ranged from striped leggings to little 50’s-inspired coats. I’m not lying when I say this: I had a different pair of shoes for every day of the week. Because of this, I blame my mom for my ever-growing collection of shoes. I love fashion. Fashion is a way to express individuality – a way to show the world who you are just by one glance.
-Describe to us your idea of a perfect day?
Modelling for Melvin Sokolsky, watching a ballet with my boyfriend, eating at a fine French restaurant, winning a national spelling bee, & coming home to my 24th floor loft overlooking Los Angeles & watching White Oleander with my boyfriend.
-What do you hope for the future?
I hope when NYLON magazine becomes less mainstream & starts featuring more independent, underground people (like they did before), then I can be on the cover instead of Vanessa Hudgens. Also, I want to write for a newspaper or a magazine. That would be pretty cool.
THANKS AIDAN!
Love,
Melanie
www.melanielikes.blogspot.com
Tags:

